Journal Sentinel Community Colunmists

I just found out about this from my dad this morning (he beat me to actually reading it myself). It's a program the Milwaukee daily paper does to get a more diverse range of opinion material for their paper. Apparently they are going to solicit more than 20 writers this year, and I am hoping to be one of them. I have to write two submission columns in the meantime, 700 words each, which is pretty standard, and send them in by June 5th, not so far away. So, if I am a little quiet for a while, you'll know why.

I am definitely going to write one of those columns on immigration, perhaps adapting something that I have already posted here previously, and then I need another topic. If anyone thinks they have a good topic for me, let me know. These are opinion columns, so they have to be about things you can make a point and persuade about. This is right up my alley as I did this in college instead of writing news like all the real journalism students are supposed to do. Wish me luck!

5 Responses to Journal Sentinel Community Colunmists

  1. lois bruss says:

    Good Luck Laura

    Glad to hear you’ll be submitting an article as it sounds like a good opportunity to get an article read by the Journal.

    You could also write about your general experience working at a fast casual restaurant and as an off shoot to immigration your experience working with the illegal immigrant employees.

    Why is there so much focus on immigration at this time ??
    Makes me wonder if this issue has been brought to the forefront by the administration in hopes of taking the focus off our involvement in Iraq.
    Seems to me our involvement in Iraq should be the priority.

  2. jennie says:

    I had the same thought, Laura – Thought maybe you could write about your experience in the food industry.

  3. mary says:

    laura, you rock. will you let us read what you’re going to submit or do we have to wait with everyone else for the journal to print your article?

  4. Laura says:

    Thanks guys for the thoughts. I’m not sure which Adam started to comment above (my old Qdoba buddy Adam, or brother Adam) but your comment didn’t come through. Anyway, I think I will work on something that uses my personal experiences along with the immigration topic. I don’t think my submission articles will actually be printed, that’s what the invitation in the JS implies, so I think I will posts drafts here so you guys can read and give me some constructive criticism. Thanks for all the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

