book recommendation

I recently finshed the hostorical book The Devil in the White City by Erik Larson. I wanted to use the term historical novel, or historical something that implied the feeling of this read. It's a fantastic book, nothing like the average history read, and I would highly recommend it to anyone. It's the story of the winning, planning, building and execution of the 1893 World's Fair in Chicago. One quarter through the book and I felt like I was reading something that would have a surprise ending, and I had to stop myself from doing research on the internet so that I wouldn't spoil the end for myself. I've never been so fascinated by history as I was by this book, and it inspired me to learn more about the turn of the century. Here I go!

One Response to book recommendation

  1. Christina says:

    Laura! You needs ta send me your work reference information!! Por favor. = )

    Blah. I’m in a reading rut right now. I started reading Angels and Demons (Dan Brown) but it was way too recycled for my liking.

    How’s the storytelling in The Devil and the White City? I’m always hesitant with historical books because I feel like I’m reading excerpts from those boring history books we had to read in high school. What was that one book about China you told me about? Babes in Beijing or something? Maybe that was something I ran into at Barnes and Noble…

Leave a Reply

