the day..

It was too hot to do anything after work today. I worked out this morning, put in my eight hours, stopped at the Delafield Qdoba to return a key I had and shoot the breeze with my old manager friend Damon and then headed home. Stuck in slow traffic, I made a few calls, to my good friend Sara and a company coming to give us a quote for new gutters. Then I debated whether I should go to the mall or Borders in order to avoid the intense heat of my un-airconditioned house. In the end, the good impulses that told me I don’t have money for shopping won out (for once!)

When I got home I hung out with my sister-in-law and one-year-old nephew, pulled a few weeds and made some dinner. It was way too hot to make dinner, but I did it anyway, pasta with an organic tomato sauce and lots of fresh oregano, basil, thyme and rosemary from the garden. It was yummy. Then I had a mojito, because it was just so hot, and I needed something refreshing. I watched some bad tv and almost went to bed, but instead, I went to get the mail. When I got the mail, there was a curious brown envelope that was addressed to Laura Judith Bruss from the U.S. Consulate….

And then I knew, this previously uneventful day was actually a long-awaited one. My close friends and family might already know what this envelope contained, but for the rest of you, it represents something life-changing. I tore it open and read that my husband’s visa interview date in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, just over the border from El Paso, Texas, is August 23rd.

I expected a lot more notice than just over one month, but this is good news. This means he’ll finally be well on his way to lawful permanent residency. This means when he returns to the U.S., likely not until late winter or even early spring, he’ll be coming on a plane, not on foot. This means my recent preoccupation with writing a non-fiction book compiling stories of all different immigrants from Mexico will not be compromied by the awkward fact that my husband is still technically undocumented. This means Fermin can do his food research in Mexico that he has been dreaming about, and when he comes back, who knows, maybe he’ll open his own restaurant. More than anything, it means time for him and his mom, who he loves dearly, and who I think is wonderful, and it means I will have an excuse to go on a little vacation or two this fall.

This also means a bit of uncertainty, and a lot of time spent apart. I will certainly be buying some plane tickets in the next few months, but I don’t have any vacation saved up and it looks like my department is going to be a bit lonely for a while, so I’ll have to figure out some creative ways to ask for time off. Good news is that my job does not require my presence at all times of the day, and they actually let a person take time off.

So that was my day. Fermin isn’t home from work yet. I called him to let him know and he said: “beautiful.” He’s told me so much about how beautiful the period from All Saint’s Day to Christmas is in his town, and I imagine he can’t stop thinking about it.

14 Responses to the day..

  1. Jack says:

    That’s great news Laura and Fermine. I am very pleased to hear it.

    By the way, regarding gutters, I installed the gutters on my house in around 1978, and it was a nice job to do and fairly easy. They were seamless, and delivered at the right lengths, and they gave me all the directions regarding installation, and I enjoyed it. Anyway, I’ll have a lot of spare time starting in September, so I’d be glad to help out with that if it appeals to you.

  2. Shelly says:

    Hey Lauren,

    I found your blog through Mary’s… did you know that Juarez is where my fiance Mark works? He spends a decent amount of time there. We’re even considering living there for a small period of time at some point! Just thought that was a fun connection. Glad to hear you are well.
    Shelly

  3. Laura says:

    Shelly H? Did you just call me Lauren??! =)

    Anyway, all the immigration processing for people living here and then attempting to legalize go through Ciudad Juarez. I know little about it except Fermin thinks it’s nasty and dangerous.. but he probably have a very skewed view of it.

    What does Mark do there? Mary probably told me once but I am not remembering now…

    Dad, it’s Fermin (there’s no “e” at the end) =) As far as the gutters, I’m going to get the quote and see, it’s a two-story house, so installing them sort of frightens me, especially because on the back we’d be like three stories up. more on gutters later…

  4. Shelly says:

    hilarious. hilarious that i spelled your name wrong and your dad spelt your husband’s name wrong. whoops!

    funny also that fermin thinks that juarez is nasty and dangerous – true, true! parts of it are! i’ve only been there once, but mark really loves the people and the kids especially. it’s just such a holding place that so much crap ends up happening there. mark is opening a youth center in connection with an orphange, so he runs trips (both for christians, and just secular groups) for people to build homes and play with the kids.

    sorry again about calling you lauren!
    shelly h 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    That’s awesome – I would love to know more about it.. I am playing around with this idea of writing a book.. crazy I know, but I would like to spend a little time on both sides of border sometime in the process and knowing someone with connections there is cool. Does his organization have a web site?

  6. Adrianne says:

    Congratulations, Lauren and Fermine! I really only have an inkling of what this process entails, but I’m glad to hear that you are on your way to being able to realize the dreams that permanent residency will afford you.

    What’s the reason that he has to go back to Mexico for so long? Just the time needed to process paperwork?

    Adrianne

  7. Christina says:

    Haha – Lauren and Fermine. So funny. I’m very happy and excited for you and your hubby! = D Congrats.

    So, what kind of food research does he want to do?

  8. Jennifer says:

    I’ll be going July 31st, and I have to warn you, cause I’ve been investigating……
    Ciudad Juarez is very, very, very dangerous. 340 women and girls have been murdered there since 1993, and the killings continue. I have to say, I’m just a tad bit worried, and there is no way in hell I’d live there!!!!!!!!!

  9. Jennifer says:

    By the way, I’ll let you know how it goes, if I don’t get raped and murdered that is….

  10. Shelly says:

    like anything, americans over alert about any other country and its dangers – sure, there are unfortunate things that happen in Juarez, but mark spends months there at a time and makes smart decisions and has never had any problems! juarez is not a bad, evil, dangergous place. like any city – it has good and bad and dangerous and “safe” and rich and poor areas. i don’t know – i just get defensive of that poor city that everyone assumes is so dangerous.

  11. laurafern says:

    Shelly, I have to agree – I’m not sure who Jennifer the commenter is, but I was a little surprised by her sharp judgment of Ciudad Juarez. When I originally made the comment about what Fermin had said, I was just quoting what he thought. I always want to give places the benefit of the doubt too and Americans tend to have an extremely skewed view of what is normal, safe, dangerous and whatnot. I’m not sure honestly that 340 women killed in 16 years is really that high of a murder rate compared to other cities of its size either. Jennifer, if you are reading, defend yourself! =) All in good dialogue.

  12. Shelly says:

    definitely all in good dialogue! 🙂 opinions are entitled – especially one like fermin’s – who is a native of the country and has much more valid of an opinion than me. we need to catch up more sometime laura!

  13. okiyohukyo says:

    Here are some links that I believe will be interested

  14. Jennifer says:

    I wasn’t opinionating, I was stating facts. By the way, the Mexican police robbed us almost $900 while we were there, I guess they’re worse than the people.

Leave a Reply

