a mojito (and a voicemail) after a long few days

I just listened to my voicemail… and there was a message that went like this: “Hi Laura, this is Ricardo Pimentel (I’m thinking, I know this name but I can’t place it).. from the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel (??!!) and we want you to be one of our Community Columnists….”

Yeah!

For those of you who haven’t been reading me that long, here’s what this is about. I just found out today and I am really excited!!!

5 Responses to a mojito (and a voicemail) after a long few days

  1. Jack says:

    Congratulations Laura! Sounds very exciting. Did you ever post the articles you wrote to apply for the position?

  2. laurafern says:

    I didn’t, I wasn’t really that happy with them to be honest. They were okay, but not great. I didn’t really think I was going to get it. Although, the other day I read one of the community columnist’s pieces and I wasn’t impressed with the writing. I think it’s more about them getting interesting perspectives than strictly great writing. There’s also a variation in the level of talent too I am sure. I’ll know more later today.

  3. Rachel says:

    CONGRATULATIONS LAURA! I am so happy for you and for all of Milwaukee (including Joe and I) who are now able to read your wondeful missives. We will wait with baited breath for your first installment!
    Cheers,
    Rachel.

  4. mary says:

    woohoo, laura!! milwaukee is lucky to have you.

    what did you end up sending in as an example?

    and congratulations!!! this is awesome 🙂

    will you send copies to all your friends and family??

  5. laurafern says:

    Thanks Rachel (and Joe)! We have to get together sometime! I loved looking through your pictures yesterday – you guys take so many interesting shots, my kind of photography. I hope you had a delightful time!

Leave a Reply

