up-dating

I feel like I have been neglecting my blog a bit lately. There’s lots to say and update about, but I’ve been quite busy at work, too busy to spend hours surfing the ‘net each day, pretending to write “business letters” in Microsoft Word that are then quickly cut and pasted into WordPress for the benefit (or detriment of my five readers).

My husband is in Mexico – sad because he’ll be there from six to nine months, which tends to shock people, but last week I thought he might receive a ten-year ban from the U.S., and today we are 99 percent sure that’s not going to happen, so that’s excellent. Two weeks before Fermin left I somehow stumbled upon a web forum on immigration, and then somehow ended up sending an e-mail to a girl on there whose husband seemed to have the same situation as mine. I can’t remember how I found the original web site, but the girl, who responded back to me, referred me to this, much larger immigration forum. Had I not found this forum we might have been in a pile of deep doodoo right now, because we really did not have the right information to prepare for exactly what was going to go down for him in Ciudad Juarez. Since then I have corresponded with several really nice women whose husbands are also Mexican and are generally going through the same situation I am – it’s been, to say the least, a blessing.

Tonight I am at Alterra at the Lake with a mission, to write a letter with corresponding documentation that describes the hardship to me, a U.S. citizen, were my husband to not be allowed to immigrate. The unfortunate part is that we don’t qualify for any of the typical hardship clauses (having children, health problems or sick relatives to care for in the U.S.), so I have to rely on lame arguments like the danger of living in Mexico and the fact that it would be hard to find a job because “I don’t speak Spanish.”

Finishing the letter and fed-exing all the stuff for his case will be a huge weight off my shoulders, at which point, I am planning to write a much more controversial column on immigration for the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel. Watch out Warren – you haven’t seen nothing yet!

p.s. Everyone say congratulations to my dad, he’s retiring after decades (30-some years I think) working for Johnson Controls. He’s looking forward to days filled with golfing, exercising, reading, home improvement, and of course, more golfing.

8 Responses to up-dating

  1. Jack says:

    Thanks Laura – it’s 33 years, most of them good. Just a small correction – I’m not into computer gaming too much anymore, only an occasional fix of Bejeweled.

    I trust everything will work out great with Fermin.

  2. Adrianne says:

    Congratulations, Mr. Bruss! Being able to work at the same place for so long and feel like you’ve had mostly good years is becoming increasingly rare.

    And congratulations to you, Laura, and Fermin. Six to nine months does seem so long to be apart, but when you put it in the context of ten years, it seems extremely managable. Chris was gone 4 out of 6 months in the last year while he was training out-of-state and we probably had more contact than you and Fermin will, but it passed pretty quickly.

    If I’m one of your 5 readers I’m still here! I’m in the middle of our kick-offs at work, being stressed while we figure out where to live next year, and exhausted, but I’m still here.

    Adrianne

  3. mary says:

    yes, congratulations, mr. bruss! my dad has been retired for nearly 5 years now and loves it. he gets lots of golf in, lots of reading and started doing some volunteer work, too. plus, after working since he was a kid, a break from work is a welcome thing for him. hope you enjoy it as much!

    and laura, i’ve been talking about you guys a lot lately, so know that you’re on my mind. i’m praying for all of this to work out quickly and well. thanks for all the updates!

    see you soon!

  4. Sara says:

    Go Jack bruss go jack bruss go !

    I am excited for this season is your life – so much adventure awaits – you could start your own adventure in retirment blog.

    Laura – thansk for the more detailed update – i wait in anticipation of your column.
    love you – sara

  5. tramadol no prescription

    news

  6. […] intending immigrant had their visa interview and was found ineligible because of illegal presence, as happened to Fermin in August, the U.S. Citizen spouse was allowed to submit the infamous “Waiver of Grounds of […]

  7. […] Does everyone remember my immigration journey? If not, and you have a little time, refresh yourself here and here. If you are unable to invest a few extra minutes – Fermin was an undocumented immigrant […]

Leave a Reply

