links for a happy hump day

I admit I am foolishly excited about the election results, because politicians are still politicians, but I can’t help it. Offensive-on-immigration issues Mark Green soundly defeated in the Wisconsin gubernatorial race, the Nancy Pelosi-led Democrats taking over the House and maybe still a win in the Senate, even if it doesn’t all turn out as grand and successful as the liberals say today, I can’t help the excitement. And then I saw this:

Rummy says goodbye

and I was ecstatic.

Finally, a blog entry from New York Times’ David Brooks, who admits he is a conservtive but was happy about the way the election turned out in certain ways. I think he puts it well. No one in any circumstances should be able to act the way the current leadership has and get away with it.

3 Responses to links for a happy hump day

  1. Matt says:

    I agree with you Laura that the excitement is a little hard to contain. Tuesday was my birthday, and I count the results a pretty good present, except for the gay marriage ban and death penalty thing.

  2. Laura says:

    Yeah, how strange that the Democratic vote was so strong and those two ammendments passed. I guess I am less surprised about the gay marriage ammendment than the death penalty. I really didn’t think Wisconsin would go back to that, especially with everything that has gone on with the death penalty in other states in the past few years. At least it’s just an advisory referendum.

  3. Troy says:

    Amen sister! And now self-hating RNC chairman Ken Mehlman gets the boot. I’m starting to feel like I can finally breathe again.

    My partner and I were thinking of moving to WI until this election cycle. Indiana, where we live, is likely to pass an anti-gay marriage bill next year so we will relocate. All of the South is out. Looks like we may have to check out AZ.

Leave a Reply

