reflect 2006

I’m just hungover enough that composing thoughts on globalization doesn’t seem like a good idea. Instead, I’m half-watching the Badgers in some bowl game and writing another self-absorbed list. We’ll save globalization and the other deep thoughts in my head for later.

Grabbed from Erika:

2. What did you do this year that you’ve never done before?
I spent time at an all-inclusive resort, attended a jazz festival, and had relatively serious discussions about making babies.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I don’t make resolutions, and I won’t make any this year.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes, my dear high school friend Adrianne, in October, to Aaron Christopher.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Thankfully no.

5. What countries did you visit?
Jamaica and Mexico.

6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
I would like to have repainted my loft/family room and bought some decent furniture.

7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
August 23rd, 2006 – Fermin’s visa interview in Ciudad Juarez, Mexico, the start of our immigration-related separation.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Making the leap out of the restaurant business.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Letting the stress of my old job and the sedentary nature of my new job be an excuse for gaining a little weight.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

No.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
A new business-casual wardrobe? This hasn’t been a year for big purchases.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
The Senate for not passing legislation similar to the House’s deplorable immigration bill. The nation’s immigrants who went to the streets to make their voices heard and presences known.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
President Bush and company, no question.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Countrywide Home Loans, Hyundai, We Energies, ATT, etc.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Spending 10 days in Mexico with Fermin in December.

16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
”How to Save a Life,” because of it’s ubiquitous presence on television, radio, etc.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

happier about life in general, sadder that I can’t see my husband every day/fatter/richer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
I wish I’d baked more bread, done more work around my house, and of course, I will always wish I had traveled more.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Watching television.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?
I already spent it, with family.

21. Did you fall in love in 2006?
Umm, I already am in love.

22. How many one-night stands?
None.

23. What was your favorite TV program?

Ugly Betty.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
I don’t think so.

25. What was the best book you read?
That’s tough. Most memorable were Erik Larsen’s “The Devil in the White City” and Gabriel Garcia Marquez’ “Love in the Time of Cholera.”

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
The recommendations feature on iTunes. I’ve found some good stuff through that feature.

27. What did you want and get?
A new job.

28. What did you want and not get?
Some kind of device that will play music from my iPod in my living space, ie the Klipsch iGroove.

29. What was your favorite film of this year?

The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada, for something mellow, independent and interesting, and Dreamgirls, for something exciting, big and decadent.

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I turned 27, but that was about 11.5 months ago, so I don’t remember what I did. I was probably working, which I will do this year as well, but this year I’ll probably have dinner and a few drinks with friends too.

31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Not having to write a letter to the Department of Homeland Security about how separation is a hardship on my marriage and Fermin not being forced to stay out of the US for nine months.

32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
Slightly more stylish than 2005.

33. What kept you sane?
Friends, family, and an insatiable curiosity about the world.

34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Jonathan Rhys Meyers.

35. What political issue stirred you the most?
Immigration.

36. Who did you miss?
Fermin, half the year.

37. Who was the best new person you met?
Any number of women I interacted with through immigrate2us.net.

38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.
Be proactive. Consume wisely. Don’t buy everything interesting you find on sale at Target.

39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
I need to think more about this one.

4 Responses to reflect 2006

  1. Dad says:

    Ok Laura I’ll play. Here’s my list:
    1. What did you do this year that you’ve never done before?
    Successfully installed a central vacuum system in my home.

    2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
    I set goals, and don’t like to call them resolutions (I guess because resolutions seem common and temporary), and my main goal was to lose some weight before announcing retirement, and I achieved the goal.

    3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
    Not that I recall.

    4. Did anyone close to you die?
    No.
    5. What countries did you visit?
    Mexico business, Denmark vacation.
    6. What would you like to have in 2007 that you lacked in 2006?
    I’d like to define and complete our kitchen remodel project.
    7. What dates from 2006 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
    January 12 – the day I decided to set a weight loss goal and tie it to an announcement of my retirement.
    8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
    Achieving item 7 above and retiring on September 1.
    9. What was your biggest failure?
    Gaining 10 pounds back of the 24 I lost earlier in year.

    10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
    No.
    11. What was the best thing you bought?
    Christmas splurge – central vacuum system, new computer for me, laptop for wife.
    12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
    My wife for achieving one of her life goals by performing a concert tour in Norway and Denmark. President Bush for sticking to the plan for victory in Iraq despite neverending unfair critisim and backbiting by the Media and others.
    13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
    Mainstream media for their left wing bias. Democratic polititians like Pelosi and Reid who have been successful (with media help) in undermining important issues like the war on terror and Social Security reform while they push feel good, but useless legislation like minimum wage change, smoking bans, etc.
    14. Where did most of your money go?
    Taxes, taxes, taxes. Lets think about this – approximations – Fed income 18%, State income 8%, State sales 5%, property tax about 6%, Social Security 12% (6% of that from employer). So that is about 49% of income before figuring in things like fees, gasoline tax, medicare, etc.
    15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
    In no particular order – Politics, golf, Badgers, Packers, taxes, retirement.
    16. What song will always remind you of 2006?
    Drawing a blank.

    17. Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?
    Much happier because of retirement, thinner, richer thanks to good stock market performance.
    18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
    Exercising, although I did a fair amount, it seems I always feel I could/should have done more.
    19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
    Procrastinating,
    20. How will you be spending Christmas?
    I already spent it, with family.
    21. Did you fall in love in 2006?
    I’m 61 and have been married for almost 20 years, so no.
    22. How many one-night stands?
    None.

    23. What was your favorite TV program?
    Lost – I got hooked by borrowing first season DVD from library and then bought second season, and have caught up with this the third season and am waiting patiently for series to resume in February. There is nothing else I watch except sports and reruns of L&O.
    24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
    There are probably some polititans I could put on the list, but I guess I don’t really hate them. Or maybe I do.
    25. What was the best book you read?
    Up Front by Bill Mauldin – soldier in WWII written in 1945. My uncle loaned it to me last year and I finally read it. It is a gem!
    26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
    The 10 cent (recently increased to 15 cents) music download site Mp3Sugar.com. Also, I discovered the benefits of walking with an Ipod in my ear. It makes it much easier to keep going and keep up a good pace.
    27. What did you want and get?
    Retirement. Player of the Year in my Mens club.
    28. What did you want and not get?
    Nothing I can think of

    29. What was your favorite film of this year?
    The Departed (haven’t seen too many movies this year)
    30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
    61 – can’t remember, but probably had dinner with wife and kids.
    31. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
    Republican victory in November.
    32. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2006?
    Basic schlup.
    33. What kept you sane?
    Intelligence, logic.
    34. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
    Jeb Bush – He did a great job in Florida, he is a conservative, he speaks well. If his last name were not Bush, he’d be next president.
    35. What political issue stirred you the most?
    Iraq war, local pension and sick pay scandals.
    36. Who did you miss?
    No one.
    37. Who was the best new person you met?
    Drawing a blank.
    38. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2006.
    Losing weight is easy with the right motivation. This is undoubtably true for most goals, so we need to find ways to motivate ourselves.
    39. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
    Drawing another blank.

  2. jennie says:

    That so-called bowl game was the one in which your team beat the pants off of my team!! 😦

    I love Ugly Betty and buy something at Target every time I go.

  3. laurafern says:

    Dad – victory in Iraq??!! Is that seriously what you call what is going on there right now? Unbelievable. I mean, even most conservatives don’t think there will ever be victory there. This line of thinking is not logical.

    Jennie – you crack me up. I don’t care anything about football, I just happened to turn it on and there were the Badgers. I’m sorry they beat your team though.

  4. Dad says:

    If you define victory as toppling a bad dictator and making sure he never uses WMDs against us or others, then we have already acheived victory. However, I define victory as enabling the Iraqi people to democratically elect their government and that this elected government will be able to defend itself and it’s people against murderers and terrorists. Obviously we are not there yet, but I believe completely that we can get there. The only thing to prevent us from getting there is ourselves.

Leave a Reply

