today

An assortment of thoughts:

Today I slept until 10:00 am. I still love and cherish my weekend sleep-in day. I work a regular 8-5 type job, but lately I’m also putting in three closing shifts a week at Qdoba, and nearing a year into having a regular work schedule, I’m no closer to actually getting to bed on time. The night hours have always been my friend, and I am not able to give them up yet.

Today I made my first ever cake. Well, I’ve made a lot of cheesecakes, but never a chocolate layer cake, or any other sort of cake I don’t believe. It turned out rather fabulous (tasting). I’m not sure I mastered the actual assembly and frosting of it, it’s rather slopping and lopsided, but who cares, it tastes wonderful.

Today I could feel my nose hairs freeze up when I took out the trash.

Today I watched far too many hours of a TLC’s What Not To Wear Marathon. I spent three good hours writing yesterday, and it’s too cold to go out and do anything, and I don’t have any money with which to shop or do anything else, so I just mostly stayed home and did housework, made some shrimp curry with pasta, and intermittently watched the tube. Personally, What Not To Wear beats the superbowl anyway.

Tomorrow is Monday.

One Response to today

  1. lois bruss says:

    Congratulations on a good tasting chocolate cake ! Regarding assembling a layer cake – that’s why I usually make a cake in a 10×14 pan. I still don’t know how to keep the top layer from sliding from the bottom layer & frosting the side without crumbs getting mixed with the frosting. If you figure out a fairly easy way please let me know !
    Other than being on vacation somewhere or spending time with my kids my favorite thing to do is be HOME & cook, clean, watch TV, lay on the couch to read, listen to music, take a nap, etc…. I love it ….

Leave a Reply

