loaning for good

I was reading a recent post about microfinance loans to poor countries on From Xico, and the author referenced a March 28 Nicholas Kristof column in the New York Times. (Unfortunately, I don’t think that Times link will work if you are not a Select subscriber). Then, I checked out Kiva, the organization that Kristof mentioned as an example of a place where anyone can “donate” to the microfinance needs of a member of the developing world.

As their statement reads: Kiva lets you lend to a specific entrepreneur in the developing world–empowering them to lift themselves out of poverty.

I won’t say that I’ve been looking exactly for an outlet for any personal giving I might decide to do, but it has been on my mind here and there. Other than occasional giving to Milwaukee Public Radio, which I feel I benefit far more from than I actually give back monetarily, I spend 100% of my income on number one these days. Well, it’s more like Fermin’s cell phone, our mortgage and all the rest of the bills these days.

My point being, it’s attainable, satisfying and seemingly more direct than most charities to give to entrepreneurs via Kiva. I guess I have an aversion to a lot of charitable giving, because I feel so disconnected with it, and I don’t trust organizations, and I’m also selfish. But, I think Kiva is something to check out.

2 Responses to loaning for good

  1. mary says:

    right on! i really like the way kiva is set up. glad you gave it some attention!

  2. Shelly says:

    mark and i did a “kiss for charity” at our wedding where we kissed when people put money in a jar that we’d give on to charity. we made quite a bit of money and gave out 8 loans on kiva. i think it’s a really neat organization and an important means to actually changing someone’s life for the long haul.

Leave a Reply

