Isthmus story

Well, the long-awaited link to my story for Madison’s Isthmus newspaper has finally arrived.

Enjoy!

6 Responses to Isthmus story

  1. Monty Clement says:

    A very nice story indeed. I read it a few times, and also listened to it online on WTDY 1670 in Madison. Do I have a problem with Mr. Roberto López trying to make a better life for himself? Absolutely not. Do I have a problem with him entering the country illegally and obtaining work with a possible invalid or stolen Social Security number? Absolutely. The story of the fiancee and the struggle to work and the football game and the Niagra Falls are a nice touch to the story but have nothing to do with how Mr. López gained legal employment here. What about a struggling homeless person who is here legally? He will continue to remain homeless because Mr. López has his job. What about a single mother with x# of kids that cannot find work? Well, thanks to Mr. López her chances of finding a job are made that much more difficult. Let’s not mince words here Mrs. Fernandez, I welcome all nationalities of people to come here to the US for a better life, as long as it is done the proper way; LEGALLY. Please do a follow up story on this. Let us know if Mr. López plans on applying for legal citizenship for this country. I pray to God he gets it. Also, is there a reason why so many Mexicans are crossing the border illegally? I honestly don’t know. Please fill me in. Is the US limiting the number of immigrants that can apply for citizenship? Are the conditions that savage in Mexico? I am being sincere when asking these questions. Please tell me what we are doing wrong to Mr. López when all we ask is that HE do the right thing. Thank you for your time.

  2. Laura (not the blog author) says:

    I see no connection between Lopez working in the US and unemployed homeless people or single mothers. In Madison, any number of custodial and manual labor jobs are available on any given day — look through the classifieds. To say that Lopez took those jobs away from unemployed people is just a total joke. I’d love to see one of Monty’s “homeless” people or single mothers or whoever go and apply to get a job washing dishes and cleaning toilets. Most of them wouldn’t last a day.

    I won’t even go into Monty’s questions about why so many people try to come to the US. Frightening that there are people who truly don’t understand or know anything about the issue.

  3. laurafern says:

    Monty – I have posted a new post in response to your questions, which I appreciate very much. Please let me know what you think.

  4. Monty Clement says:

    Laura,

    The comments section of this blog is in regards to the story or item that you are commenting on and not somebody else’s comment contained herein. Your reply however paints you as the kind of individual that harbors resentment and anger. In contrast, the original author showed much more decorum and respect in aswering my questions and reviewing my comment, as was given to her. ok?

  5. jennie says:

    Excellent article, Laura. I am so grateful I found your blog many months ago through Mary. You have really opened my eyes on these immigration issues. It’s sad to me how many people make remarks about illegal immigrants (I hear them at work all of the time), when really they don’t even know what they are talking about. I’m glad to have the knowledge of your experience so that I’m not guilty of being so ignorant.

  6. laurafern says:

    Hi Jennie. Thanks so much for your comments. Those are the sorts of things that make it worth it.

Leave a Reply

