smile and nod


Watch Republican presidential hopeful John McCain’s response to Bill O’Reilly’s assertion that the “white, Christian, male power structure” of the United States is being directly attacked by liberals and “The New York Times.”

Note to all white, Christian males of generations XY & Z: Please do not shame yourselves and the rest of us by carrying this attitude into your own powerful futures.

Thanks to Rafael who pointed me to this via a comment on Nezua’s blog. Nezua, by the way, is brilliant, witty and a great blog-catch. He’s fluent in the sort of Spanglish that’s thrown around in my marriage and also comes up with the best post titles!

5 Responses to smile and nod

  1. Rafael says:

    Glad I could help. The truth is disturbing, but it is the truth non the less. Of course we live in an age of Unreason, where fear fills the minds of those who oppose justice and liberty, who think that words like “equality” and “multiculturalism” are dirty because they validate the Other.

    Sad…really sad….

    Keep up the good work.

  2. laurafern says:

    Hmm… Yes. Agreed. I’m a direct person and I don’t find it useful to gloss over things. I suppose that is why I post this hideous exchange on my site, because people need to know what Americans are hearing on television. I don’t watch much TV news, almost none, and I think I’m the better for it, but I also do not want to be naive.

  3. Gabacha Yucateca says:

    I am an intelligent, articulate, compassionate person. But all I really want to do is put these guys in a full Nelson and then poke them in the eyes.

    A key phrase was “changing the complexion of America.” Hell, yeah! They’re not afraid of terrorism, they’re afraid of change. If they weren’t so dangerous and powerful, I’d think it laughable how frightened they are of Latinos and other immigrants.

    Chinga’o gabachos…this is why I don’t watch the news!

  4. laurafern says:

    Amen to that! It makes me insane to hear them talking like that!

Leave a Reply

