Phew

What a week. Following the debate and almost certain collapse of this immigration compromise has been like watching a train wreck for days, a duller version of the feeling I had watching the news of the tsunami in 2004, or the towers collapsing on 9/11.

Of course the Senate meetings, the media coverage and the commentary have not been violent, but the casualties of this immigration bill — families, workers, local economies — are just as tragic. After the compromise revealed itself in all it’s xenophobic, nativist, anti-immigrant glory, I admit I’m deep relief that it is failing, but commentary like this (read the comments for an interesting discussion) and this make it hard to settle down on any level.

I’m out for the weekend, but I’m hoping my recent bout of writer’s paralysis will diminish with some much-needed old-friend time in another city. See you all next week.

One Response to Phew

  1. Jeff Davis says:

    I think that your blog is very interesting, Ms. Fernandez. However, I have a lot of doubts about allowing a huge influx of immigrants into the United States for many years to come. I don’t think that Wisconsin has a great problem with overcrowded schools, hospitals, etc, like several other states. I will concede that some of the opposition to the immigration bill may be racist or natavist. Yet, I think that many Americans do not support open borders. I do not think that The Wall Street Editorial Board and many businesses pushing high levels of immigration are motivated by some notion of social justice. They want to keep wages down. You wrote about the immigrants you did not notice in Milwaukee, Madison, and various other places. Have you noticed the working class American citizens who are also struggling in this country? How does allowing large numbers of immigrants help them?
    I am a registered Democrat, and I voted for Ralph Nader in the past two presidential elections. I think that both major U.S. political parties are largely controlled by the wealthy and powerful, although the Democratic party sometimes does some good for rest of the public.
    I think that George Bush might have been able to push through some immigration legislation if he had not damaged the country with an unpopular war in Iraq. The next president will probably be a Democrat, but I think that immigration legislation that has some sort of form of amnesty will still be very unpopular. A Democratic president and congress may be able to pass some immigration laws that you may support. However, I think that many voters will be quite upset, and throw out several Democratic incumbents. I believe that immigration legislation has the potential to be as unpopular as court ordered school busing and gun control. The Democratic party suffered major losses on those issues, too.

Leave a Reply

