weekend soundtrack

Over the weekend, driving to Michigan with my dear friend Jennifer Janscha, I got to catch up on podcasts of This American Life. I thoroughly enjoy TAL for all it’s brilliant storytelling and quirky hilarity. One of the episodes in my podcast backlog was Habeas Schmabeas, aired for the first time just over a year ago. It’s an excellent example of TAL’s equally stunning journalistic prowess. I sincerely hope you will listen (or read) to it.

According to Wikipedia:

“In common law, habeas corpus (/ˈheɪbiəs ˈkɔɹpəs/) (Latin: [We command that] you have the body) is the name of a legal action or writ by means of which detainees can seek relief from unlawful imprisonment. The writ of habeas corpus has historically been an important instrument for the safeguarding of individual freedom against arbitrary state action.”

Most liberally minded people know vaguely that something has gone awry at the Guantanamo Bay detention center in the last few years, but as host Ira Glass himself admits, before they pursued this story, none of his staff could remember hearing or reading an interview of a former Guantanamo detainee. May you be as surprised as I was.

4 Responses to weekend soundtrack

  1. Gabacha Yucateca says:

    You know, This American Life was one of the few things I really missed while living in Mexico. I just recently discovered the podcasts, but am not technologically advanced enough to get my iPod hooked up in my car. Ah, what joy that’d be.

  2. laurafern says:

    Ahh my friend, what you need is this..

  3. E says:

    I have lived for NPR.org while I’ve been in Mexico. Thanks for this link though. Had not heard/read this one before. Scary stuff.

    Are you also having trouble getting on the immigrate2us site?

  4. laurafern says:

    Yes, I believe they are moving to a new server, so hopefully it will be back in a day or two and with less issues.

Leave a Reply

