loathing staples

I’m having a really hard time concentrating today. This weekend was a whirlwind of activity and home improvement. Birthday dinners for my brother, a housewarming party for an old friend, and lots of prying tiny (pinche!) nails out of my stairs. I’m somewhat frantically trying to get my upstairs loft completely carpet- and staple-free before the floor refinishing folks come tomorrow.

After they finish working on Thursday, it’ll be time to get the final coat of paint on the walls, get everything put back into place, hopefully hang some pictures, and then get ready to leave next Friday for Ciudad Juarez. I need maps, I need phone numbers, I need to launder and pack and make sure my housemates have specific directions so that my plants are alive when I return.

I’m still somewhat worried about a life-altering change of plans that could possibly befall us in Ciudad Juarez, but unless that happens, I can’t really discuss it here. In other words, Tuesday July 10th will be a big day. If all goes well, we’ll be out of Mexico by the evening, ready for a new, stabler life where we will be able to travel at will and not worry about a freak deportation or not getting a job because of a Social Security number mismatch.

I’ll be blogging as much as I can during the trip… stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

