robbed!

I had this really great looking acorn squash growing the last few weeks, and I was really excited about it. I hadn’t noticed it until I came back from Mexico and our road trip, when it was suddenly quite large, about the size of a small honeydew melon, and I figured I’d get to eat it in a few weeks.

Well, last night I pulled into my parking space, which butts up against the fence that serves as the border of my yard and my garden, and the squash was missing! I asked Fermin, and he said he hadn’t seen it, and clearly no one from my house would have just taken it off and eaten it (they know those vegetables are like my babies), which means some mean alley passerby probably saw it and decided they had to have it.

I hope they are enjoying it! Jerks.

4 Responses to robbed!

  1. Rachel. says:

    Oh no! That is dreadful!

  2. Jeff Davis says:

    It is too bad that you were victimized by some thief, Ms. Fernandez. I live in Washington, D.C., and the crime rate is probably significantly higher than Milwaukee. I think that many residents of the larger U.S. cities have factored in crime as a cost of living in an urban area. I and many of my friends and relatives have been burglarized, or had their autos stolen or broken into. Moreover, some have been robbed, also. I think that crime and the poor public school systems in many cities discourage many people from staying in urban areas. The suburbs may be less interesting, but they generally have much less crime.

  3. laurafern says:

    Well, it was just a squash. I wasn’t victimized, although my squash may have been. I’ll never know.

Leave a Reply

