{insert title of post here}

A close friend just told me that last night, suffering from evening coffee-induced insomnia, she read my entire blog, from the most recent post all the way back to keeping up with the Joneses. I found my friend’s admission wildly flattering, as we are very old and close friends, but she has admitted to almost never reading my blog, which doesn’t offend me, but maybe has made me a tiny bit sad a few times.

She suggested I might review my progression as a writer were I to do the same. That’s an interesting thought, but I excel at self-criticism, and I’m afraid I’ll start editing all the old posts that I no longer like or agree with my older self about, so I better not.

I’m sort of afraid of my own invulnerability, but I don’t want to be that way. If I wrote something telling about my character or religious beliefs two years ago, I believe those thoughts should remain. But I know myself, and that I would rather put forth a unified product, a set of beliefs and values that reflect who I am right now, even if that too, will change in another two years.

Speaking of ‘keeping up with the Joneses,’ that’s an extremely lame first post title, and foreshadows the difficulty I generally have titling my posts. Also noteworthy that I liked blogger back then, and that Miss Mary B-to-be-A, currently on hiatus, was my inspiration to blog in the first place.

3 Responses to {insert title of post here}

  1. lois bruss says:

    It would be easier if I could keep the same beliefs, etc. but that’s not possible for me. I hesitate to give my opinions sometimes because with more info I can change my view. That thinking goes back to the belief that a person should stay “constant” which I now believe is sometimes a negative.

    There are certain core values that remain constant but now I believe it’s good to change and evolve and think it’s a positive.

  2. Jennie says:

    I miss Mary. I hope she goes back to blogging when her life slows down!

  3. laurafern says:

    Jennie – guess what? Mary is getting married this Saturday – I bet she would love it if you sent her an e-mail!

Leave a Reply

