ten years

This past weekend the Brookfield East Class of ’97 celebrated our 10-year high school reunion in Milwaukee. It was a surreal evening – catching up with old friends, remembering the names of people I haven’t seen in 10 years and observing how many have shed their youthful roles and become their own confident individual, not a derivative of a group of “band geeks” or “math nerds” or “soccer guys.”

I think I’m a very different person than I was in high school – my interests and the way I view the world have changed drastically. While it’s hard to believe 10 years has passed, I feel really, really happy with where my life is and where it is going right now, and even approaching 30 doesn’t scare me anymore.

2 Responses to ten years

  1. Jennie says:

    I loved that we were all just people instead of jocks or nerds or whatever…It was a very refreshing feeling when I attended mine in 2005.

  2. gabachayucateca says:

    Amazingly surreal, isn’t it?

    I was almost positive that I wouldn’t go to mine in 2005 and was glad I did1

Leave a Reply

