I’m in!

We got home in the early hours of Monday morning so I didn’t even look at my huge pile of mail until yesterday evening when I got home from work. I happened to be catching up via cell phone with my dear friend Sara when I saw two small envelopes and one big one from Marquette in the mix. I interrupted our conversation while I opened the big one to find this inside:

2278213106_a7e09ec766_m.jpg

I also received an acceptance letter from the Law School and a note from the Assistant Dean of Admissions commenting on my writing skills/experience.

I’m not exactly surprised but frankly I hadn’t thought much about law school in the past month, between planning and then being on vacation. Besides that I had no idea when I would hear from Marquette, whose deadline for part-time students isn’t until June.

Needless to say I am relieved and happy, and newly motivated to complete my FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid – that’s such a blast from the past!) after I pick up my tax return tonight. But first I have to go vote in the exciting (for once) Wisconsin primary!

More on Mexico later!

8 Responses to I’m in!

  1. Jennie says:

    Congratulations!!

  2. lois bruss says:

    Congratulations Again Laura !
    It’s going to be great to have an attorney in the family.

    Mom

  3. kyledeb says:

    I’m so happy for you Laura! Great job!

  4. laurafern says:

    Thanks Kyle! So much going on right now, I haven’t had time to keep up with your blog lately. I hope you are doing well!

  5. mary says:

    WOOOHOOO! i’m not surprised 🙂 congrats to you, lawyer!

  6. Amy G says:

    Laura, I’m so glad for you!!! If anyone needs to be a lawyer, it’s you! Good luck getting all the paperwork done!

  7. hansroberts says:

    Yay! Huge congratulations!
    hans

  8. laurafern says:

    Thanks Hans – and with regard to your question from Cien Cosas, I suppose it is a combination of things. Having a somewhat settled life (husband, house in a city I enjoy living in) helps. I really think I know myself better as well, and that has just happened over time.

    In high school and college, frankly, being involved in evangelical groups, etc, I think I had this idea that whatever I did, it had to change the world. You know, and let’s be honest – no offense to people who actually go out and change the world, but having that as a goal, that’s a little crazy. I don’t need to change the world. I’m quite content to do no harm – to others, to the environment, etc. I don’t want a mission. I want to live well, have good relationships, enjoy life, and hopefully influence some people close to me in some positive and meaningful ways. I also don’t spend entire days wondering what God wants me to do. That caused me a lot of stress as a younger person – wondering if what I was doing was what God wanted. I don’t really know if God cares what I do for a career, or with every minute of my day. I am more content with a mystical, mysterious, vague spirituality that doesn’t answer all the world’s questions now. I used to believe that faith could answer all the questions, and when it never did I was never satisfied. Not viewing faith like that takes a big load off one’s shoulders, I think.

Leave a Reply

