not quite what I was envisioning

So I received my class schedule last night. I’ve always had the idea that my first year of law school would involve more or less a work day of classes, followed by several hours in the library, five days per week. Well… not exactly. My classes begin at 1:20 Monday through Thursday, ending at 6:30 with an hour break, except  Wednesdays, when class goes until 9:00 p.m. Oh my…

I’m still not sure how I feel about this. There are up and downsides. The best being three nights in Milwaukee rather than just two, because I can return to Madison on Monday mornings rather than Sunday nights. The worst is the fear that I will sleep in rather than get myself to the library in the mornings.

4 Responses to not quite what I was envisioning

  1. Kel says:

    I’m glad my classes start in the morning and for the most part I have a good schedule. I would be worried about sleeping in too. I need to be forced to get up in the morning. It leads to a more productive day.

  2. Melissa says:

    I feel you on that one, Laura. I too need to be forced to get up and go to be productive. I’ve heard of people who can get themselves up and going without some sort of schedule (like class or work) and be productive beforehand, but I’m certainly not one of them. 😉

    I’d try to make some sort of “appointment” (even if it’s just meeting a friend for coffee and studying earlier in the day so that you need to get up! Good luck!

  3. laurafern says:

    Thanks ladies. Yeah, I know I am a lot more disciplined now than six years ago as an undergrad. I will hopefully also be more motivated during law school, but having some sort of obligation in the morning would be the best. I’m thinking I might sign up for an 8:00 am exercise class of some sort… once I’m up I’m up. But we’ll see.

  4. lois bruss says:

    Not the best schedule for us slow morning risers but nice to have the 3 day weekend and the later class on a Monday.

    If I had those hours I would probably totally revert back to my ingrained pattern to have a 2nd shift schedule. Good idea to have an exercise class at 8am that will help.

Leave a Reply

