new things

Well, despite my father calling this a move to the dark side (but look it’s white and shiny and sleek and pretty!) I’ve followed the call of my soul and purchased my first Macbook.

Say ooohh pretty...

Say "ooohh pretty"...

My Acer TravelMate has served me well the last four years, but he wasn’t going to survive the back and forth, in and out and moving around from library to apartment to home and back for three years. Armed with the UW Doit Tech Store student discount and assurance from the law school that I would not have issues taking exams on this baby, I made the switch. It’s actually been six years (gahh – I graduated from undergrad six years ago!) since I last used a Mac, so it’s quite different, and I’m still getting used to it.

But so far, very good.

I even saved $70 on Office for Mac (student discount) because someone I know was able to give me a copy, and I got Adobe Acrobat for free! I don’t need that software, but I now I can explore the wonderful world of creating PDFs! Yeah!

Another goal is to complete several projects around the house before I start school. I now have an entire week to tackle some of the more time consuming ones, like finishing the steps that lead up to our upstairs. Last year I ripped out the carpet in this area and had the floors re-sanded. The steps turned out really well, right?

Well, until you are going up them. Then you see this:

Ahhhh – so ugly I know. The people who did our floors didn’t have the part or whatever to do the vertical side. The sad part is, I’m so used to it, I don’t even notice. However, a month or so ago I cleaned out part of my basement and found my electric sander, which will make it a hundred times easier to take care of this. Then I will get it painted and be done with it.

I also need to paint my living room. I’m not sure about getting that done, but posting the goal on the internet is extra motivation, I think.

Last goal is general de-cluttering, starting by selling old books. I have boxes of books in my basement that, in reality, I will never want to look at again. I keep the books I love, but I don’t need these books. So I started a “store” on half.com, and already sold one book! I’m hoping the pile will shrink and I’ll make a few bucks, and the rest I will donate.

3 Responses to new things

  1. Melissa says:

    That is one sexy little beast! I don’t even know how to use a Mac!

    And just had to comment…you are such a big girl with your own electric sander! I felt like such a big girl when I bought my first hammer, but really, that’s the only thing I own.

  2. Heidi says:

    Ooooh, nice! I LVE my macbook! If you have any problems with test and stuff and ever want to put “boot camp” on your mac (turning part of your hard drive it into a pc) let me know! Then you get the best of both worlds!! I had to do it for work and was really sceptical, but now that I have been doing it for a couple of months, I like having both a pc & a mac on my mac! Enjoy your lovely little macbook! (ps. press option-shift-K)

Leave a Reply

