labor-free day, believe it or not

So I worked hard over the weekend, Thursday through Sunday that is. I spent 2-5 hours each day working on pre-class reading and accomplished all I could. I still 30 pages to read and a short assignment to do, but that’s not due until Wednesday and I didn’t bring the book home.

Last night, husband-person and I watched The Bank Job (great flick!) and drank a tasty bottle of pinot noir gifted by the friends most qualified to pick out wines. It was a relaxing and lovely evening. Drinking with husband or friends is my sort of drinking. Bar Review (law students meeting at the same bar on a Thursday evening) – not really going to be my thing I don’t think.

Today it was back to university-land, with the idea of spending the evening in my Civil Procedure book. After reading a bit, my roommates (the near-strangers) invited me for Mexican food and margaritas. Well, I couldn’t pass that up, could I?

Verdict from the evening: the roommates are at least as I cool as I pegged them to be, probably cooler. I received more law school tips from the now-lawyer who is only around on weekends, and learned a more about his fiancee, the environmental studies grad, all over some tasty tequila concoction.

So, not so much labor today, but it was a relaxing way to spend the day before classes. Tomorrow at 1:20 p.m., law school officially starts. By 6:30, I will have attended three of my four major classes. It could be fun, interesting, scary, embarrassing or boring. Maybe a little of all of the above. In any case, time passes, and I’m more than ready to really begin this adventure.

Leave a Reply

