It moves! and other updates…

I’ve been a blog slacker. I haven’t felt much like writing. And I’m busy.

As I mentioned a few weeks ago, I tend to slack a bit in the start of the semester and start the real learning later. It worked surprisingly well in fall and so far so good this time around. The goal is to not feel overwhelmed on April 30, the last day of class, a few days before exams begin. I’ve gotten most of my property and constitutional law outlines done, but I’ve worked hard on those the last two weeks. Next, I need to tackle administrative law, which of all my classes, I find very confusing and difficult to grasp. I’m hoping once I start reviewing there will be many moments of clarity.

In other news, it is finally real spring! True to college-town form, as soon as the temps rose into the 50s and the sun came out, the kids started wearing tank tops and flip flops and laying out in various grassy open areas. I have to laugh, because in F’s hometown, this is like the winter weather, and people wear hats and parkas and down hot beverages from sun up to sun down. After many months of dark, cold weather hell, though, it’s nice to be outside with a light jacket.

Back in my apartment, enjoying the sound of birds and natural light that actually lasts past seven, I’m relaxing after completing my oral argument this afternoon. I didn’t even suck. It was much better than last semester. That had a lot to do with: 1) already having done an oral argument once, 2) not being intimidated by my professor and 3) not being in the scary court room at the law school. I thought I was well prepared last fall, but my nerves really got the best of me. My co-counsel, who was literally shaking the whole time, didn’t exactly help. It’s a sad day when I have to encourage someone else not to be nervous about public speaking. This time around, I knew better than to trust my own skills (well, lack of) at talking off the cuff and wrote the entire argument out. I didn’t need it all, which was good, but it was there for reference.

Last but not least, just five days until our ultrasound and we find out what our baby is! I’m excited and nervous. Nervous only because we’ll also get information about how he/she looks and if there are any problems, but excited definitely to attach a gender to it, now that it moves around and seems more realistically like a living thing. I’m feeling very lucky to have a lot of energy and feel really good, now let’s hope that will last into the third trimester, also known as, when I get huge and it’s hot outside. Stay tuned!

One Response to It moves! and other updates…

  1. Jen says:

    Haha! I’m NOT going to be huge by the time the weather is hot! I’m actually 6 weeks away from having this kid…now that’s scary…

Leave a Reply

