news from just south of the border

There’s big news in my corner of the immigration world. U.S. Citizen and Immigration Services in Ciudad Juarez, the place where the term paper of my life (on why it would be a hardship for me were my husband not allowed legal residency in the United States) is sitting on some overworked bureaucrat’s desk right now, has taken a large reformative step.

There has been talk on the forum about a mysterious “pilot program,” and the stunning details of it were both announced and put into action last week.

Before last Tuesday, when an intending immigrant had their visa interview and was found ineligible because of illegal presence, as happened to Fermin in August, the U.S. Citizen spouse was allowed to submit the infamous “Waiver of Grounds of Inadmissibility” and its trusty sidekicks “Hardship letter” and shitload-of-documentation packet the same day, or more recently, in a second interview scheduled a few weeks later.

Since Tuesday, at the immigrant’s first interview, they schedule a second interview in the near future, at which time they submit the packet and if it is deemed “clearly approvable,” it will be, indeed, immediately approved.

I don’t know how to describe the reaction on the boards other than “shock and awe” as one of our comadres was informed that her husband walked into his waiver interview Thursday, after spending just three weeks in Mexico, and walked out with his visa later that afternoon. No 3-6, 6-9 or 10-12 month estimated processing time. No waiting and waiting and inquiring and wondering. No, none of that.

Those who are not “clearly approvable” get in line with everyone else, but the fact that the existing waiver review staff will no longer process expedite requests and have significantly less new waivers to organize should speed up the process for everyone.

And while no one knows exactly what “clearly approvable” is, it seems most who read some approved packets and understand what is expected, regardless of the existence or strength of actual hardship, can meet the standard. Now, just there when I said “actual hardship,” I meant, of course, what USCIS decides is hardship. The fact that a U.S. Citizen simply wants to live in his or her own country with their chosen spouse (who is neither a criminal nor a threat to society or may be, in fact, a very productive U.S. resident for many years) is not enough.

At any rate, the pilot program that is allowing these very fast approvals seems to be the work of Warren Janssen, Officer in Charge of the USCIS office in Ciudad Juarez. Although Fermin and I will not personally benefit from this program, other than perhaps with a quicker decision, I cannot help be overjoyed by the fact that thousands of couples in our position in the future will.

Uh-oh, my nephew just locked himself in his bedroom, which was fun for a while, but not he’s screaming and banging on the door; time for my brother-in-law to climb through the window to get him out.

16 Responses to news from just south of the border

  1. Matt says:

    We’re hoping for the best for you and Fermin, Laura

  2. laurafern says:

    Thank you Matt (& Sara — although I know she’ll never read this) =)

  3. […] and relative unrest on the forums, with many husbands and wives feeling that in the wake of the pilot program, they were being […]

  4. Appreciating the persistence you put into your website and detailed information you present.
    It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date
    rehashed material. Fantastic read! I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m adding
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  5. Hi! I know this is kind of off-topic however I needed to
    ask. Does building a well-established website such as yours require a large amount of work?
    I am brand new to blogging but I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my own experience and views online. Please let me know if you have any ideas or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  6. Whoa! This blog looks just like my old one! It’s on a totally different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout and design. Great choice of colors!

  7. What’s up, everything is going fine here and ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s in fact excellent,
    keep up writing.

  8. Hello there! This is my first visit to your blog!
    We are a group of volunteers and starting a new project in a community in
    the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

  9. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high quality articles or weblog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I eventually stumbled upon this web site. Studying this info So i am satisfied to convey that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I so much for sure will make sure to don?t omit this website and give it a glance on a relentless basis.

  10. Hi there very cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .

    . I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds also? I’m glad to
    search out a lot of useful info right here within the publish, we want develop more
    strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  11. Ray says:

    Hola! I’ve been reading your web site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Dallas Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the excellent work!

  12. Alfie says:

    Wow! Thank you! I permanently wanted to write
    on my site something like that. Can I include a part of your post
    to my

    website?

  13. Delbert says:

    I relish, lead to I discovered exactly what I was taking a look for.

    You’ve ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day. Bye

  14. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to far added

    agreeable from you! However, how can we communicate?

  15. Sofia says:

    Awesome blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site

    soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you propose starting with a free platform like

    WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m completely

    overwhelmed .. Any tips? Thank

    you!

  16. Lincoln says:

    Terrific work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the web.
    Shame on Google for not positioning this post higher! Come
    on over and visit my web site . Thanks =)

Leave a comment